Breakfast Oat Jar

Hipster food has been around for sometime now.
Deconstructing everything and putting food in jars has never been a hobby of mine and I never felt the urge to even try out such food.

But time changes everything… I was craving a healthy, vegan dessert and with the things I had on hand I knew there’s one thing I could make… the issue is, all my bowls are inside the dishwasher now.

A jar seemed more like a lifesaver at this point, and an opportunity to make a jar-recipe.. something I never did before. I find it very practical now and cannot wait till I go devour the dessert tomorrow at work.

The recipe here is super simple.. so simple, I believe it must exist somewhere on the internet many many years before I thought of it… it’s so simple I can truly not imagine no one came to make it before, but I will not waste time searching and will post it as is:

Ingredients:

  • a handful of oats
  • a total of 1-2 tablespoons of honey
  • 1 banana (but you can add more if you wish)
  • a dash of cinnamon
  • a sterilized glass jar with lid

Step one:
dry roast the oats in a pan. Half way into the roasting, add around 1/2 tsp of the honey and remove from heat.
Stir well until all oats are coated with a very fine layer of the caramelizing honey.
Be gentle, yet quick to make sure the oats don’t burn.
At the end of this process, add in the cinnamon and stir one last time.

Step two:
Slice a banana or more diagonally and quite thinly.

Step three:
Layer your dessert into the jar: add one layer of the oats, top if with a layer of the bananas, then drizzle with some honey and repeat.

For the top I garnished with some banana slices, another drop of honey and a pinch of cinnamon.

 

17806869_10158341303210214_229862281_n.jpg

Variation 1: add a layer of peanut butter after the bananas

Variation 2: add a layer of greek yoghurt after the bananas

Variation 3: make it with air-friend apples in coconut oil and cinnamon instead of the bananas

Variation 4: make the same jar with a mix of berries and greek yoghurt instead of bananas. If you use that variation, omit the cinnamon and honey though. As flavoring, vanilla would work best.

 

And enjoy a ready-made breakfast in 3 minutes to make the mornings feel better 🙂

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Oat Jar

Leave a Reply

