The Aquafaba Experiment

If you’re a fan of the show “The Big Bang Theory”,  this title will sound to you like the title of an episode on this show 🙂
I really couldn’t help it though, I am a huge fan of that series so I drew the inspiration from it.

The title aside though, this is my last experiment before I move off the world of vegan cooking.
Aqua Faba has been all the rage,  and  I saw people swear by it, so  I thought I have to try that out.

It is said to have very similar qualities to egg whites, and hence whips up beautifully into froth or even into peaks that could get you on the start of a meringue or even a French macaron.

My experiment was much simpler than that.. If it has the potential to become a meringue, then it can definitely be something that pleases the cake decorator in me: Royal Icing.

For years, I had been baking Christmas cookies for sale but when people ask for them in a vegan variation I apologize as I have no good all-vegan recipe for royal icing. So it was an interesting challenge here even for the business purpose.

For those who don’t know what Aqua Faba is, it’s simply the canning juice of chick peas.

So here’s my recipe for Aqua Faba Royal Icing, followed by my comments.

Ingredients:

1 can Aqua Faba (The chick peas themselves became a lovely Lebanese  Chicken Fattah)
½ kilo powdered sugar
4 tsp corn starch
vanilla

The method is quite simple:
1- beat the Aqua Faba until it’s forming soft peaks. Just like egg whites it will first be foamy then frothy then opaque white and finally will give you soft peaks.
I tried to get hard peaks but it somehow never worked.
2- add the sugar and starch a little at a time until you get the desired consistency of Royal Icing.
3- once done, add some vanilla (and colors if you wish) and beat one last time.

 

Comments:

You will generally need a lot more vanilla than you normally need on Royal Icing or Butter cream.
This is to dim out the after taste of chick peas you get when working with the Aqua Faba.

The mixture is just like Royal Icing and can be piped or spread. It does harden as well really stiff (even more than royal icing) but takes somewhat a longer drying time.

 

My biggest concern is, that at the end of the day Aqua Faba is a canning juice. It contains preservatives and could be high in sodium. So the health concern is what I am having here. (I know I know, Royal Icing could bare salmonella, but I still don’t see how Aqua Faba is healthier).

All in all, I think the experiment worked, because I tasted the icing it was really good and tasted like sweet vanilla. It also took colors beautifully as I used it for my “Summer Greeting” cake and was easy to use, just like any Royal Icing.

im2age11.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Aquafaba Experiment

  1. This might be the most beautiful aquafaba application I’ve seen! Thanks so much for sharing this. I also might have a solution to your concern for canned aquafaba- you can actually make it fresh! If you have dried chickpeas you can reuse the water you boil them in the same way you would the canned variety. That way you can control the sodium (or lack of sodium) in your bean water.

    Like

Leave a Reply

